Today I’m incredibly Excited to be Interviewing Tracey Sinclair Author of Angel Falls.

Today I’m incredibly excited to be interviewing Tracey Sinclair

 Author of Angel Falls

Welcome Tracey please tell us a little about yourself and your books.

Thanks for having me! I’m a freelance author, editor and writer – basically, my job is anything to do with words! Angel Falls is the third instalment in my paranormal series about a woman who runs a dating agency for humans and vampires in London and keeps getting side-tracked from her job by having to deal with threats to the city. It’s a funny, snarky, action-packed series – if you like Buffy, Being Human, the Vampire Diaries or Supernatural, or books like Rivers of London or the True Blood series, you’ll probably enjoy Dark Dates.

What inspired you to create Angel Falls?

I started the Dark Dates series not knowing there would be more than one book but the characters just gripped me so much I had to keep writing.

What is your writing routine? are you a pantster or planner?

I tend to know what happens at the start and the end but wing it in between – and often the process surprises me. I make a lot of notes and write a lot of scenes before I start a proper draft, though, to get a feel for the story.

Did you have a favourite place you like to write, while you were creating your novel?

I moved house in the middle of writing the series, so it varies – the books are very inspired by London, where most of them are set, though I have also written stories in the series set in Brighton (where I live), New York and Edinburgh – which were a lot of fun to research. I do enjoy taking a notebook to a café and just seeing what I can write, though.

What part of writing your novel did you most enjoy? E.g. First draft, research, editing…

I think the very early stages, when I am just writing standalone scenes, are the most fun because they are freer – you can write anything and it doesn’t necessarily end up in the final product – but I actually enjoy each stage of the process. It’s great to feel the story sliding into place with the first draft, and polishing the writing and editing is very rewarding.

If you could be one of your characters, which one would you be and why?

Cass, because she gets to have sex with the hot guys! Or maybe Laclos, because he gets to have sex with everyone…

Which character did you like writing about the most? Why?

Cass narrates the novels (though generally not the short stories) and, as she is geeky and snarky and a little like me, I always enjoy writing her. But Laclos is the most fun, as he’s so outrageous.

What is the darkest thing any of your characters have ever done?

Well, both of my male leads Cain and Laclos have killed people, so that’s pretty dark!

Who are your favourite Authors?

Too many to list! But I love Terry Pratchett, John Connolly, JK Rowling (writing as herself or as Robert Galbraith), Chris Brookmyre, Ian Rankin, Tess Gerritsen, Alice Walker, Madeline Miller, Pat Barker… it goes on and on! Recently I discovered Celeste Ng, who wrote the exquisite Everything I Never Told You, so she is a recent addition to the favourites list.

What projects are you working on next?

I’m working on a number of projects at the moment, including the sequel to Angel Falls. (I have to tell people that as I keep getting asked!)

Do you have any advice for fellow writers who maybe undertaking creating their first novel at this very moment?

Just keep at it – and remember, the most important thing about a first draft is that it gets finished. You can always fix it later!

Any final words you would like to add.

Please buy my books! Go on, you know you want to…

Thank-you Tracey Sinclair for taking time to do this blog interview, it has been a real pleasure to hear about your novel, I wish you well with your novels and all other writing projects you may undertake in the future.

Tracey Sinclair is an author and freelance editor and writer. Her books include the romcom The Bridesmaid Blues and the Dark Dates/Cassandra Bick series, the latest of which, Angel Falls, is out now.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Angel-Falls-Cassandra-Bick-Chronicles-ebook/dp/B01AMOGRBY

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Bridesmaid-Blues-Tracey-Sinclair-ebook/dp/B00M83Y3VO/

Web address: darkdates.org

Twitter/Facebook Pages: www.facebook.com/darkdates

@thriftygal

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/510122.Tracey_Sinclair

Leave a Reply

