Today I’m Incredibly Excited to be Interviewing Voinks Author of ABC-Destiny and Changes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today I’m incredibly excited to be interviewing Voinks Author of ABC Destiny and Changes.

Hi Katrina. Thanks so much for inviting me.

Welcome Voinks please tell us a little about yourself and your book and where your writing journey started.

Although I got my first rejection letter aged 9, my writing journey didn’t really take off until about 5 years ago. I had a bizarre accident which left me first stuck in hospital then house bound, and going stir crazy. The rainbow was that it gave me time to write my first novel ‘Changes’ and do a happy, skippy dance (figuratively speaking) when I received the wonderful ‘we want to see more’ letter. By then I’d got the writing bug, and my favourite expression (with suitably modest pink cheeks) was ‘By the way, did I mention I’m an author?’

What inspired you to create ABC Destiny?

I was thinking about what to do as a follow up to my first book, and my publishers suggested putting several of my shorter stories into a compendium. ABC Destiny was one of the five selected by new publishers as a stand-alone. Researching for girl’s names to fit the different characters I realised they were A, B, and C and continued the theme through the book. What was really weird was that I ‘invented’ the name Delphine, and very shortly afterwards became good friends with a lady with that name. It seemed like a good omen. 

What is your writing routine? Are you a pantster or planner?

Not a planner. Most of the time I have no idea where the stories are going. A remark or event will inspire me, I start typing, and then the characters take over and just tell me what to do.

Did you have a favourite place you liked to write, while you were creating your novel?

The back room at home has become my office, and I seem to spend most of my time in there these days. It looks out onto the garden through the conservatory, so at least if I get too involved I still know whether it’s actually a nice day out.

Describe what your Muse looks like to you in three words.

Surreal, inquisitive, exciting.

What part of writing your novel did you most enjoy? E.g. First draft, research, editing..

I love starting something new, but seeing the final revision done and dusted gave me the most satisfaction. 

If you could be one of your characters, which one would you be and why?

Probably Delphine. She doesn’t have it easy but faces hardship, doesn’t give up, and tries to make things work whatever life throws at her.

Which character did you like writing about the most? Why?

Eustace. It was fun having a villain but bringing out facets of his personality to make him human.

What’s your favourite subject to write about? Why?

I didn’t think I had one, but a fan mentioned several of my recent short stories involve animals. If this includes people, gremlins, unicorns, mermaids and dragons she’s probably right.

If you could describe one of main character in three words what would they be?

Dedicated, driven, tender. (This is how I see Frank.)

Do any of your characters have any strong beliefs or fears, if so what are they?

There are six main characters in my book, and each has their own very different hopes and fears. Bringing out the contrasts was very much a part of the story.

 Who are your favourite Authors?

A terrible thing to admit but I tend not to notice or follow particular authors. However a browse of my book shelf reveals Stephen King, Tess Gerritsen and Jodi Picoult taking up space. Nearly all my recent reads have been by ‘unknown’ Indie authors, and I am proud to be building up a small, signed collection of their books with personal dedications.

What was the best advice you’ve ever had while writing your novels?
It can take years to be an overnight success. Never give up.

What projects are you working on next?

Apart from writing my weekly short stories, I have entered several competitions and intend to self-publish either my 100,000 word mystery thriller or ease in gently with a shorter novel. This is the scary bit; I need a magic fairy to just do it all and leave me to get on with writing, although it’s fascinating learning how much is actually involved.  

Do you have any advice for fellow writers who may be undertaking creating their first novel at this very moment?

Just do it! Take advice from other authors and don’t be afraid to ask for help. The writing community is the most supportive and helpful I’ve ever come across, and obviously that includes bloggers.

Any final words you would like to add?

To me writing is easy, but getting known and the marketing side of things is something I dread. To all readers, PLEASE leave a review of the books you read and enjoy; they are invaluable to authors. To all bloggers, an enormous Thank You. Without your dedication and hard work so many newbie authors will be starving to death in the proverbial attic.

Thank you so much Katrina for giving me this opportunity to talk about my characters and my books. It is appreciated more than you could ever imagine.

Thank you Voinks for taking time to do this blog interview, it has been a real pleasure to hear about your novel, I wish you well with your novels and all other writing projects you may undertake in the future.

 

 

Blurb: ABC Destiny  Voinks  

Abigail has a middle-class upbringing, Beatrice has to grow up fast as life is tough, Cecelia is part of the privileged elite. All have different backgrounds, but what do they have in common? Forced by her perverted stepfather to leave home at a young age, Delphine meets Eustace, a man of shady character, who becomes her employer and father figure.

Whilst working on an undercover investigation Frank encounters Delphine, who becomes the love of his life. She moves in with him and quickly falls pregnant. As a first-time father, working away, Frank calls every night to reassure himself, and initially everything is fine. It is only when he returns home that the nightmare begins. He is told Delphine has had a stillborn and wants no further contact with him. Meanwhile, Delphine is left alone to mourn her loss and start to rebuild her life. Destiny has entwined the lives of the characters, but will they discover the secret that binds them together?

 

Blurb: Changes

Jane’s safe, stable job comes to an end through redundancy. Her sister, who is her best friend and confidante, moves to the other side of the world.

A casual visit to the hairdresser’s is the start of a chain of events that change her humdrum life completely. Her dreary, suburban London home is swapped for a villa in the Mediterranean; she meets the man of her dreams, and her old life becomes a distant memory.

Or has it?

His reticence and mysterious absences bring back her old insecure feelings. Then, a family emergency has her rushing back to her childhood roots. Her new life and home are lost.

It is as if the changes had never happened. Except now she is alone, homeless and jobless. But fate has not finished with her yet. More changes lay in wait.

Changes Book Trailer 

To find out more about Voinks and her novels, check out the links below. 

Val Portelli—-Pen name: Voinks

Facebook:

www.facebook.com/Voinks.writer.author

Blog:

www.Voinks.Wordpress.com

e-mail:

Voinks@hotmail.co.uk

ValPortelli@outlook.com

Books: Links.

‘Changes’

www.amazon.co.uk/Changes-Voinks/dp/1848972997

Changes Trailer

www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqXmxSrZsxo

ABC Destiny

www.amazon.co.uk/ABC-Destiny-Voinks/dp/1784556963

 

2 thoughts on “Today I’m Incredibly Excited to be Interviewing Voinks Author of ABC-Destiny and Changes.

Leave a Reply

