Interview with Lucia from A Life Between by Louise Walters.

Interview with Lucia.

Welcome Lucia and a huge thank you for taking the time to answer my questions.

1) Tell us a little about yourself. And what you are doing right now? I live in a nice little flat in a city in the south of England. My time is my own so I read, sew and think.

2)What makes you happy or unhappy? I’m not sure I fully understand those feelings. We just ARE, aren’t we? A mixture of all our emotions, at all times.

3) Who is your favourite person in your life right now? And why? I don’t have a favourite person. I did have, once upon a time. But he let me down.

4) Do you have any fears or strong beliefs? If so what are they? I fear nothing, apart from death. Everything else is a bonus, and not to be feared. I have always believed in myself, in a quiet, determined sort of way.

5) If you could swap places with a fellow person you are with or have met, who would it be? And why? It pains me to admit it, but yes, there is a person whose shoes I would like to stand in, even if for one day. My sister-in-law, Simone. She’s half French. I hate her, in most ways, but I wish I could be her. She is so pretty, and glamorous, and I suppose many would describe her as “nice”. Which I’m not.

6) What do you believe your main propose is ? And how far will you go to achieve it? I had a purpose once, but if drifted away from me and now I can’t ever get it back. My purpose was to marry, have children, and be a normal wife and mother. That’s all I wanted, if the truth be known. But I was thwarted by the aforementioned sister-in-law. I went far to get it, I really did. Some would say too far. I caused a lot of damage. But I don’t really regret it. “Stuff happens,” I think the young say?

7) What is it like being an auntie to Tina? Tell us about one of the things you do together? Well of course I don’t see her now, but Tina was sweet, both as a child and a woman. I miss her. She’s the one I really miss, which has surprised me. I would love to see her again but I know it will never happen. We used to sew together, making rug rags, and mending clothes. She was a quiet, bookish person. I think… I think I loved her, in my own way.

8)  Have you done anything unforgivable to someone else? Was it out of love or revenge? Tell us about it. I haveI hurt my brother and sister-in-law. I hurt Tina, and her sister Meg. I was too harsh in those days, harsh and brittle. I sought revenge. But looking back on it, I ask myself, revenge for what? I’ve thought about this so much since moving into my flat. I may have been wrong. But nobody is perfect.

9) What has been your favourite memory? I used to sit and sew with my mother, when I was a child and a young woman. At the time it didn’t feel particularly special. But looking back, those times were gentle and precious. I miss my mother. I should have been kinder to her.

10) Do you speak any other language? If so could you type a sentence in that Language? I don’t speak any language other than English. I especially don’t speak French…

11) What is it like having brothers? Do you have a moment about them you’d like to share? Growing up in a household of boys was… well, not much fun. I often felt ignored, side lined. At the same time my oldest brother Edward was kind to me when I was a girl. He used to give me lollipops. He always had lollipops in his pockets.

12) If you could have one wish right now what would it be and how would it help your current situation? This is one of the things I think about. It’s hard to be honest with oneself. But I suppose, if I am truly honest, I wish I could take back a lie I once told. It hurt people very badly. It was wrong of me. So I think I would erase that from my history, if I could. But, of course, I can’t.

Thank you Lucia for taking part in this interview. It has been a pleasure getting to know you.

A Life Between Us blurb: 

Tina Thornton’s twin sister Meg died in a childhood accident, but for almost forty years Tina has secretly blamed herself for her sister’s death. During a visit to her aging Uncle Edward and his sister Lucia, who both harbour dark secrets of their own, Tina makes a discovery that forces her to finally question her memories of the day her sister died.
Who, if anyone, did kill Meg? As Tina finds the courage to face the past, she unravels the tangled family mysteries of her estranged parents, her beautiful French Aunt Simone, the fading, compassionate Uncle Edward, and above all, the cold, bitter Aunt Lucia, whose spectral presence casts a long shadow over them all.

A Life Between Us is a beautifully evocative story of a family torn apart at the seams, which will appeal to readers who enjoy family sagas and modern-day mysteries.

My Amazon link is here
My Twiiter is @LouiseWalters12
Leave a Reply

