Wonderful People And My Lovely Nan.

20151226_133619_resized

A Wonderful Person My Lovely  Nan.

This post is more personal than anything to do with books like my normal posts, but I felt I needed to talk about a real special lady–My Nan (Jean) She sadly is very unwell with cancer and within the last few weeks have been in hospital and she has dementia as well.. The news has hit all of us hard as she’s a very loved part of our family and a real lovely woman. But she wouldn’t want me to go on about the hard time she’s having at the moment so I thought I would share some of the lovely things about her…

Jean is a real reader since I’ve known her she has read books, romance  is her favourite, but she has read all kinds of books and she is always saying just how important and special drifting into a good story can be… She inspired me to read more and write too.. She was so happy to read my novella as well which made me feel blessed she is able to read it..

She also knits, even while she been unwell she’s been knitting little blankets for a wildlife charity, she loves the thought of helping others and she loves animals. So being able to help in some way made her really happy. She has her own bird called Rose who she love a load. Her bird brightens up her days and she’s always saying how magical her bird is…

She taught me how to knit when I was a kid and she can be a real funny person, especial at Christmas when we all get together. Last year she was singing. I have a video somewhere but my sister would crown  me if I showed it as she’s singing too. Hehe!!  Oh the memories.

But when I think of my Nan I think how brave and caring and wonderful she really is. And how she always thinks of others first. So this posted is dedicated my Nan and what a lovely brave and inspiring woman she really is.

You’re very loved and cared about Jean.

All my thoughts are with you xxx

IMGP1905

Feel free to add a bit about the wonderful people in your lives in the comment section below.  

12 thoughts on “Wonderful People And My Lovely Nan.

  1. Hi Katie, what a moving tribute to your lovely Nan, she sounds a remarkable woman and it’s a privilege to meet her here. It must be a difficult time for you and your family but what a comfort for Jean to be surrounded by such loving people, whether her dementia lets her know you are family or not. xxxx

    • Hi Marianne,

      How are you? I hope you are well.

      Thanks I was a bit on the reflective side this morning. Yeah my Nan is a remarkable woman and very caring person. Yeah it’s a heartbreaking time with my Nan being unwell. But it helps to remember all the special amazing things about the woman she is. And of course she has all her family ring and visiting her which helps I think. I think even if she gets confused on who we are she can still feel how much we love her. Love don’t need words or remembering anything, its a feeling the goes on endlessly from all our hearts, I’d like to think. xxx

  2. Hi Katie, This is a lovely piece. While it’s very sad to hear that Jean is in hospital and has dementia, it’s wonderful that she has such good people around her who love and care for her, including her pretty little bird, Rose. She’s an inspiring person, and it’s so kind of her to continue to think of others even when she’s ill and in hospital. It must be amazing to have her as your nan. xxxx

    • Hi Kendra,

      How are you? I hope you’re well.

      Thanks, I was a bit reflective this morning I think. Yeah she always has all of us who loves and cares about her. And Rose her lovely bird, she loves her bird a load. She is a very special person and always thinking of others. Yeah it’s lovely to have her as my Nan she’s a Wonderful caring person. xxxx

  3. Hi Katie,
    I’m really sorry to hear your Nan is ill – I know it’s painful when someone you love isn’t themselves. But you captured her sweet personality so well, and I love the photo – she has a great smile! I also used to have a parakeet, Molly, and there is just something about birds; they are very special and have their own little personalities! Take care, and keep reading and writing, and all the best to Jean!

    • Hi Louisa.

      How are you? I hope you’re having a lovely week.

      Thanks Hun, it sure is heartbreaking when someone you love and who is a wonderful person isn’t themselves. Yeah she’s a real lovely person and it’s nice to remember those things. She does have a lovely smile, she looked happy there as we were celebrating Christmas. Molly sounds like a special parakeet, they do have their own personalities.

      I hope you’re having a lovely week.

      Katie.

  4. Such a lovely post about your nan ..I wish her a speedy recovery.
    I think we all need someone to inspire us in life and by the sounds of it your nan has done a wonderful job fulfilling that role..

    best wishes to you both…xxx

    • Hi Deborah,

      How are you? How’s your writing going? I hope you’re well.

      Thanks, I agree we all need people who inspires us in our lives and my Nan is one of those people who inspires me.

      Take care.

      Katie.

  5. Hi Katie,

    Thank you for sharing your Nan with us and I’m sorry that she’s unwell. How wonderful to have a Nan that has spent so much time with you and given you inspiration to write such wonderful novels. xx

    Sending you my love and lots of hugs,

    Vittoria

Leave a Reply

