The Naked Sleepwalker’s Christmas. Short Story. (My thoughts On Self-Publishing an Ebook)

The Naked Sleepwalker's Christmas v2

The Naked Sleepwalker’s Christmas.

Short Story.

Happy Tuesday one and all. I hope everyone’s well and enjoying the sunshine. Lately I’ve been having a little go at self-publishing The Naked Sleepwalker’s Christmas (Short Story) I wrote way back when I did my first course with Creative Writing 1. . I remember how fun and exciting finishing this story was. It inspired me to keep writing and trying out new stories and in turn I ended up writing Finding Destiny my very first novel. However, The Naked Sleepwalker’s Christmas stayed on my computer waiting for me to decide how and when to go back to it, polish it up and have it edited. After a short time in hospital I sent my story to Anne Hamilton to edit it for me. Anne’s Site Write Right  Which is always a great experience and in no time my manuscript was as complete as we could get it.  

I had a few people read The Naked Sleepwalker’s Christmas throughout the drafts. One of those people was Author Kendra Olson check out her book  The Forest King’s Daughter

While having it edited I had a cover made for The Naked Sleepwalker’s Christmas. I went with Amygdala Book Design who came highly recommended to me. This was the first cover I had complete input into. It was fun to see my vision come together. Working with Amygdala Book Design was a real joy, the designer took everything I put on the form that you fill out, then the designer first created a draft cover and worked with me to tweak it so it looked just how I wanted it. Nothing was too much trouble to change and it didn’t take all that long to complete. If I wanted another cover I would use this site again. Also this site offers pre-made  covers which are beautiful too. I thought my cover turned out really magical. What do you all think? Authors what are your experiences of having covers done for your own books?

After having my manuscript edited and my beautiful cover completed. The lovely talented author Kshitij offered to help me try and learn how to format it for the kindle. I downloaded the Kindle instruction eBook and followed the steps  along with Kshitij who was also formatting The Naked  Sleepwalker’s Christmas at the same time. I did find the process very interesting and experiencing the steps that goes into putting an eBook together. Such as changing indents and page-breaks as well as the order a book goes together. However, I need more practice to really get a handle on the formatting. So Kshitij kindly did it for me and put in all changes I wanted in his copy until I was overjoyed with it. Kshitij is also a wonderful author of books such as 3 Sisters, Until You Came Along and a few others. Check out all his book on this Author Page 

After being overjoyed with the kindle version and reading it over. Kshitij kindly helped me get to grips with KDP and sign up taking me through the steps until my story was uploaded and set for Pre-order for the 10th of June. Although The Naked Sleepwalker’s Christmas is a Christmases story, it’s also a passionate romance very different from my other novel and novella. And can be read anytime of the year I should think. I’m publishing it early because summer always makes me want to read books  with snow and hot chocolate in them. Also my Nan is very unwell, so it gives me something to tell her all about. Also this is a new experience for me so it’s nice to see it through to completion.  

Overall I found the experience of self-publishing The Naked Sleepwalker’s Christmas (Short Story)  very exciting, having a lot of creative freedom as well as learning how each step works and seeing it through to the end. I think it helped me see what goes into putting together an eBook and gave me confidence in myself and I enjoyed getting creative.

If you’ve given self-publishing ago, how did you find the process? And if you haven’t yet do you think you would give it a try in the future? Any thoughts share in the comment section below.

The Naked Sleepwalker’s Christmas is ready for pre-order on amazon and will be out on Amazon on the 10th of June. I will add a page with the link to it once it’s out on a different post for anyone who would like to check it out.

In the mean time here is the Blurb: The Naked Sleepwalker’s Christmas (Short Story)  Fayre is house-sitting, all alone, at Christmas. As midnight chimes, she’s confronted by an intruder, who just happens to be sleepwalking – and naked. As Fayre’s outrage turns to passion, she wonders if this man is hers for life, or just for Christmas?

Have a wonderful week.

Katrina

6 thoughts on “The Naked Sleepwalker’s Christmas. Short Story. (My thoughts On Self-Publishing an Ebook)

  1. Well done, Katie! Congratulations on the publication of your short story, and on getting to grips with self-publishing. It certainly sounds a very interesting, and satisfying, experience. Your cover is lovely by the way! 🙂

    • Thank you Kendra that means a lot.
      It was interesting giving self-publishing a go with my short story and seeing how it all worked.
      Glad you liked my cover, I was really pleased with it too…
      I hope you have a lovely day.
      Katie.

  2. Awesome Katie , you’ve made a really job of your book and you are a very very fantastic author , and congratulations on doing the ebook yourself , you should be very proud of yourself xx

  3. That’s incredible hun! The cover looks fantastic and it’s great that you’re self-publishing – well done! 😀 Do keep us updated and wishing you all the best. xx 🙂

Leave a Reply

