My Experience of having An Editor.

canstockphoto18328669 (2)

My Experience of having An Editor.

Once I had finished writing my first novel and self- edited it to the best of my ability. I decided to approach an Editor. Luckily for me I had already met a really great tutor called Anne, who was also an Editor and I was over the moon that she was willing to take on my novel. I also knew Anne would be the right Editor for me, because she had already seen how I write and been a great help when I started really getting into writing.

I really enjoyed the whole editing process. Not only did having editing help strengthen my novel, iron out those spelling errors and comma problems among other things. But it taught me a lot about my writing and what I did well along with where I can improve. Also how to stay consistent with the way I write certain words. Now I’m at the self-editing stage of novel two, and I feel more equipped to find some of the things I over looked self- editing the first time around. I think for me not only did having an editor help my novel, but helped me as a writer too.

Also after editing is complete. I think it’s really interesting to see just how much the novel has grown and tightened, compared to the first draft.  Before setting it aside knowing it’s as good as it could be.

Thank-you Anne for all the help and time you spent working on my novel with me. It was a great experience.  Anne’s Editor Site. http://www.annehamilton.co.uk/

What was your experience of having your work edited? Did you find it helped you see your writing differently?

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “My Experience of having An Editor.

  1. Great post, Katie,
    I found editing a real help in the early stages of TSF, though I did need to do some more work after editing to strengthen the book further. Nearly finished at last.
    Looking forward to reading your books!
    Take care

    • Hi Ruth.

      Thanks, 🙂

      I agree editing is helpful in the early stages as well. 🙂 I’m glad your editing is going well and you’re nearly there with your novel.
      I can’t wait to read your book either.

      I hope you’re well.

      Take care.
      Katie.

  2. Hi Katie,
    Thanks for a thoughtful post. I too found the editing of my novel to be both essential and educational, both in terms of how editing is carried out as well as coming to terms with the way I write and what to watch out for. Anne also edited my novel, The Forest King’s Daughter, and I found her experience and input on the manuscript and writing process to be invaluable. I had also chosen her because she knew my style and approach from working with me at writingclasses.co.uk . One of the things that came to my mind during the editing process was the saying, ‘kill your darlings.’ Editing can be painful sometimes but the end product is well worth the effort. Although, I also agree with Ruth that sometimes even after editing there are further changes which may need to be made to a manuscript. I look forward to reading both Ruth’s novel as well as yours.

    • Hi Kendra.

      Thanks, I agree editing is essential and educational. It does help you learn a lot about your own writing.

      I also agree with Ruth. I don’t think editing is fully done until you’re happy with your book. I love that saying too, it reminds me of falling pages. It’s true that editing can have it’s challenges, but you do see all that had work come together in the end. 🙂

      I love your title Kendra can’t wait to read your novel. 🙂

      I hope you’re well.

      Take care.
      Katie.

  3. Hi Katie – a fresh set of eyes are, i think, invaluable. Especially by someone who has the experience and expertise to see what the story is you are trying to tell and help you find the best way to tell it. Its not necessarily easy and sometimes you only realise what that story is after you’ve had time to let all the advice you’ve been given really sink in. Great post. Thanks, Katie!

    • Hi Marianne.

      Thanks Hun… I agree editing is very important and can be a great experience and help with seeing a story in new eyes. 🙂

      I hope you’re having a lovely week.

      Take care.

      Katie..

  4. Hi Katie,
    Editing definitely would make you more aware of the tiniest of errors that may not have been noticed otherwise. Good to hear of your experience. 🙂
    Take care,
    Vittoria

Leave a Reply

